US stars try to avoid record major golf drought

There are currently four major golf titles and none of them is owned by an American. This is actually not the first, but the second time in the history of modern golf.

The drought will be the longest ever in America if no golfer from the United States captures the 111th US Open which starts at the Congressional Country Club Thursday.

The only other time when non-US players owned the PGA Championship, British Open, US Open and the Masters crown was in 1994. During that time, the British and PGA titles were owned by Nick Price of Zimbabwe, the US Open title belong to South African Ernie Els, and the Masters was owned by Jose Maria Olazabal of Spain.

That year’s drought ended when the 1993 PGA Championship was won by American Paul Azinger and the 1995 Masters was won by US veteran Ben Crenshaw.

“It just shows us Americans got to get going,” said Gary Woodland, who only qualified thanks to a jump into this week’s world rankings top 50 at 40th.

“There’s a lot of young guys in America coming up and we’ve just got to keep doing what we’re doing, and we’ll be all right.”

The only major trophy lifted by an American recently was last year’s Masters which was won by Phil Mickelson. Last year’s US Open title went to Graeme McDowell of Northern Ireland making him the second European to win the title since 1925. This was followed by Louis Oosthuizen of South Africa who won the British Open.

McDowell and Oosthuizen will join US Amateur champion Peter Uihlein during Thursday morning’s first tee in a traditional US Open.

Last year’s PGA Championship was won by Martin Kaymer of Germany while the August National was won by Charl Schwartzel of South Africa.

“America is big,” Schwartzel said after his Masters triumph. “But the world is bigger.”