Tiger Secures Presidents Cup title for US

SAN FRANCISCO - OCTOBER 11:  Fred Couples the ...

Image by Getty Images via @daylife

Tiger Woods helped to secure the winning point for the US squad and obtain the victory over the Internationals on Sunday.

The 14-time major champion beat Aussie Aaron Baddeley four and three to clinch the Presidents Cup golf title for the seventh time.

The US squad was four points ahead before the final day and though the Internationals came within two points of defeating the US, in the end the American squad proved too strong. The Americans won two of the four foursomes, drew one foursome, and lost one game.

Besides Woods, the US’ other singles winners Nick Watney, Hunter Mahan, David Toms and Jim Furyk.

It means that International captain Greg Norman, has now been by the US twice at the Presidents Cup twice.

It felt like a bitter irony that Greg Norman had criticized US captain Fred Couples for giving a captain’s pick to Tiger Woods but then suffered the defeat as his pick Robert Allenby failed to earn a point in a disappointing match.

However, according to Greg Norman, he will not be back as captain in 2013, and some other golfer will try to captain the International squad to a victory.